terewquotes.blogg.se

Computrainer workouts
Computrainer workouts





The workout I did yesterday morning was so good, it’s worth it’s own blog post. (You can also do simulations on a regular training using your gears however, the CT generates the load for me, which allows me to practice gearing for different grades.) Yet, it is possible for me to simulate climbing intervals on my CompuTrainer. Suffice to say, these are not the type of hills that work well for muscular endurance. Our hills consist of bridges and rare assortments of little bumps that take about 2 minutes to climb. But, as I mentioned before, I live in a very elevation-challenged part of the country: the southern coast of New Jersey. With over 5,200 feet of climbing across the 112 miles in the bike course, it’s safe to say that I will have to apply a “fairly large force for a fairly long time.” And, that’s putting it mildly…įor those of you who live in a hilly area, piecing together an outdoor hill workout is no problem. Given the elevated nature of the Lake Placid course, muscular endurance is central to my success. I’ve included a few to start with in the references and resources listed below. Of course, these aren’t the only ME workouts, and I encourage you to consult various books or sites that might help you design your own workouts. Again, the effort should be about 77-80% of max or 90-93% of FT. (Recovery interval 5 minutes.)Īnother example is tempo intervals, which may include 5 x 6 minute repeats with 2 minute recovery intervals. For example, a classic muscular endurance cycling workout might include 2 x 20 minute climbs, at 77-80% of max heart rate, or 90-93% of functional threshold – measured in either watts or heart rate. This approach applies whether you are swimming, cycling or running. Simply described, a muscular endurance training session should incorporate longer intervals, with shorter recoveries. (Not sure what I mean by “base” and “build” phases? Click this link for a description of the basics of periodization in the training cycle.) However, starting in the late base phase of training and extending into the build phase (March until now), I incorporate at least one cycling session per week (and sometimes two) that work specifically on muscular endurance. In the early base phase of training (January and February), most of my workouts focused simply on re-establishing and building endurance after the off season. John at the side of Whiteface Mountain, along the Lake Placid Course, in May of this year. In a little more than three weeks, muscular endurance will power me up Whiteface Mountain, and help me push through those relentless rolling hills that make the Ironman Lake Placid course so challenging. Effective endurance training must incorporate sessions that work on muscular endurance, which Joe Friel and Gordo Byrn (2009) define as the point “where force meets endurance allows the athlete to apply a fairly large force for a fairly long time and is essential for cycling” (p.







Computrainer workouts